Joe Negron Names 2016-2018 Senate Committee, Subcommittee Chairs

Jack Latvala, Joe Negron, and Wilton Simpson
November 29, 2016 – 5:15pm

Senate President Joe Negron announced his Senate leadership team and committee chair assignments Tuesday afternoon, putting a variety of lawmakers at the helm of committees to pass legislation during the 2017 legislative session.

The Stuart Republican named Sen. Wilton Simpson, R-Trilby, as Senate Majority Leader for the 2016-2018 legislative term.

Simpson, who has served as a state senator since 2012, is in line to become Senate President in four years after Sen. Bill Galvano’s anticipated term which is scheduled to begin in 2019. 

Source link